Restraints

Restraints: (n) the act of restraining, holding back, controlling, or checking; the state or fact of being restrained; deprivation of liberty; confinement. (Dictionary.com)

I am at a place in my life, where I am trying to break free of every restraint that is holding me back from giving of my self to God. My first step has been to discover what the restraints are. Unfortunately, there are a few, and they are obstacles.

Two restraints that I have recognized that really affects the decisions that I make or have made have been:

People and Money

Now of course with the first one, the response is “Girl ignore those people!” But if you look within your own life, you’ll realize that it is easier said than done.

It goes beyond people making comments on the sly or people simply stating that they don’t agree. It contains the people who look at your resume. It contains people who are influential in your life. It contains people that actually make a difference in your life.

Last week, my husband and I were having a conversation about degrees. Now don’t get me wrong, having a Bachelor’s, Master’s, and Doctorate are GREAT! But my question becomes “Why did you get those degrees?” Did you stay in school 6+ years so that you can earn the approval of people or because you loved that subject so much you wanted to spend multiple years studying it? Now if it’s the latter, I applaud you. You decided to stay and study because that’s what YOU wanted to do no matter who was going to look at your resume or not. That was what you wanted and you went for it. For those of you that are a part of the former statement, we need to have a conversation 🙂

When are we going to stop getting pieces of paper for the approval of someone else when it’s something we really don’t want to do? Now I know how hard we work for that piece of paper, but if you’re not invested in the piece of paper, why did you spend all that time going to school for someone else to be impressed if you aren’t even going to be impressed with it? Sleepless nights, hard work, blood, sweat, and tears has just gone into a piece of paper that you’re going to show to someone and still sit back and hope to God they even give you a job.

When are we going to stop doing things to make others look at us with approval? When will we begin to look inward for the approval we need? When will YOU be enough for you? When will you look at your own resume and be impressed? When will you simply look in the mirror and approve YOURSELF?

After my current job, I am determined to work for myself so that no one else has to look at my resume and approve of me again. I approve of me.  I approve of where I’ve been and what I’m doing. I approve what college I went to, my degree. And I am giving MYSELF a job because I’m the best candidate for the job!

On to the next restraint; money. The mean green. The root of all evil.

How long will we allow money to dictate what and when we do things? How long will money dictate when you will walk in your purpose? How long will money dictate when you will bring your dreams into reality?

Now of course we do need money to make things happen. It takes care of our daily needs like food and clothing, But it is not meant to dictate our purpose being fulfilled in the Earth. It is not meant to dictate when we will say yes to God.

I don’t want to keep making decisions based on my income. I don’t want to stay at a job I hate just because it pays good and I need the money and don’t know what else I can do to earn the same amount. I don’t want to keep putting the visions God has given me on hold because I don’t have the funds to start it. Money will not discourage me from moving in purpose. Money will NOT be my determining factor. Please don’t let it be yours.

Don’t let money dictate how you live your life. Don’t live safe because that’s all your paycheck allows you to do. God’s visions and plans for your life extend beyond your paycheck. Don’t let it run your life.

What are some of the other restraints you have in your life?

~Allyson A.

Leave a Reply

